Environment radio interview

9 Oct

Wind turbines, picture by Michael HeffernanPicture by Michael Heffernan

“Find someone relevant who can talk to you about any environmental issue”. This is my radio assignment for next Monday. During this first week, we did several exercises to get used to our M-audio, yet this interview seemed different. More serious. We are progressively nearing the next stage: where we’ll be expected to build on our editorial content. As per usual, I’m worried : I don’t know anything about Cornwall or the environment… Let alone the environment in Cornwall.

The first thing to do is to look for contacts. I remember that one of my housemate’s is studying renewable energy, he should be able to get me in touch with a teacher about this matter. During the conversation, another housemate brings the idea of Miss Peapod’s cafe to the table. The place is based in Penryn and uses eco-friendly technologies such as wind turbines and solar panel.

Brilliant! That’s my story and contact covered. I do some research and prepare my questions. Unfortunately, the day after that I find out I have the same idea as a classmate. She also informs me that the manager of Miss Peapod is away. Instead, she did a interview with a developer involved in Jubilee Wharf project, which supports sustainability and also works with Miss Peapod’s café.

So I’m back to square one ? Not exactly: I still have a list of contacts from my housemate studying renewable energy. In the end, I decide to go straight to Camborne School of Mines and knock at someone’s office. I found Adam Feldman, a teaching fellow in renewable energy. He is available right now for a ten minutes interview.

Well I’m not, I still need to prepare my questions. So we agree to meet two hours later. Back at his office with my research done, I feel confident about this exercise. He answers the first question. Only one problem : the M-audio is still on pause. “Ahem… I did a mistake and it’s not recording. Can we start again ? Very sorry about that…”  How unprofessional… I guess I’ve still got a lot to learn in journalism.

 Below is the final result of the interview I have done :

4 Responses to “Environment radio interview”

  1. Paula October 11, 2011 at 7:38 am #

    Hey Raïssa! This is Paula (we met in Leeds) :) I’m glad you are back in the UK doing your master!! I will follow your adventures and I hope we can meet someday, soon! xxx

    • Raïssa Ioussouf October 13, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

      Hi Paula ! Nice to hear from you again. Thank you for the comment (you are the first !)

  2. catherinefeltham October 13, 2011 at 11:40 pm #

    Amazing photo – did you take it??x

    • Raïssa Ioussouf October 14, 2011 at 8:34 am #

      I wish that I did, in fact it’s a photo I found on Flickr and was taken by Michael Heffernan.

Leave a Reply

