Week 3 recap

22 Oct

Week 3 is now over, it’s time for a quick recap in no particular order. 

Linguistic failure of the week : some of you may have noticed that English is only my second language. I’m fluent, but sometimes I still have a poor pronunciation. The beach/bitch confusion is a perfect example of that. I always suspected that I was mispronouncing these two words and I got confirmation of my feeling this week. So apparently, when I was talking about my house, people would know that I was living near “Gylly bitch”. Now I can see why they were confused. (Thanks Emma Fry for improving my education).

Radio challenge : on Wednesday news meeting, a different assignment is introduced. We all pick a story and have 40 seconds to report about it, radio style. No script allowed. The fact that the whole class is staring at you doesn’t help. This is George’s new way of torturing testing us. I decide to cover the 48-hour Greek strike. With a shaky voice I manage to complete the task. 

The frustration of the week : 9. This is the number of rejections I received before someone agreed to do a radio interview with me. I know that a journalist is supposed to deal with refusal but I was very close to that tipping point where you can’t be bothered anymore. On the other hand, I have to admit that I didn’t do myself a favor by obsessing about getting an international news angle. 

Satisfaction : Did I mention how happy I am to be on this course ? It’s truly satisfying to work for something you love rather that studying for the sake of getting good marks. I do feel a bit overwhelmed by the amount of information we receive but I’m convinced that I’m in the right place. 

The everlasting question : So, you are a Parisian girl and you decided to study in Falmouth… Why ? (I’ll answer in a different post in a few days)

Blog test : This is the first time I publish a post without an English sub-editor. Let’s see how it works. 

3 Responses to “Week 3 recap”

  1. catherinefeltham October 22, 2011 at 7:27 pm #

    You did great without a sub-editor…you don’t need one! love this post.

  2. Ines October 29, 2011 at 11:39 am #

    You know I’m lazy and I was thinking about leaving a comment in French but I don’t want to embarass you… Still with my poor English I manage to do it nonetheless… I love your blog, and this recap is really good ! Bravo !

    • Raïssa Ioussouf October 29, 2011 at 5:08 pm #

      Thank you ;-)

Leave a Reply

