Here comes the hostile environment training!

25 Apr

The training is provided by Blue Dot Safety

Remember when this blog used to be about my journey as a trainee journalist? Seems like ages ago. I think it’s time to return to the basics so let’s talk about me for 5 minutes shall we? The course will be over in a month but not before we go through a key element of the MA: the long awaited and feared hostile environment training. 

Basically, in two days I’ll be running around under heavy rain into deepest Cornwall while trying to avoid bullets. In short. The three day course also includes “situation awareness, personal safety and security, risk assessment, conflict resolution, hostage negotiation and first aid.” Wait a minute, did I just read something about HOSTAGE situation? I am not really sure I am ok with that. 

Although I am excited by this new adventure I am also a tiny bit scared. The thing is, I said to my classmates I will be amazingly good during the training. Even though it’s not a competition at all and has nothing to do with being macho. But I can’t help but picture myself with war paint covering my face, waiting in a bush with an evil look, ready to kick everyone’s butt. 

Well let me tell you a little secret: I say I am a badass but I am not as tough as I wish as was. I am a chicken. If you leave me in the dark with a map and a compass, I will get lost. Because I am an idiot. I have heard rumors that we’ll be woken up in the middle of the night to be kidnapped. If you sleep deprive me for a hostage situation scenario I might as well cry. Maybe it will convince the attacker to have mercy? I just hope I won’t extend that awkward moments list

3 Responses to “Here comes the hostile environment training!”

  1. toriorchard April 25, 2012 at 12:03 pm #

    This is absolutely brilliant Raissa – I’m so excited about the training! I definitely have visions of smothering myself in war paint, ready for action – war paint sessions in the morning? DEAL. Bring it on Bad-ass frenchie! xx

    • Raïssa Ioussouf April 25, 2012 at 12:12 pm #

      Hahaha I really love your enthusiasm! Oh, IT’S ON!

  2. misslauralizz April 25, 2012 at 3:23 pm #

    Next time you act all big and tough I shall remind you of this blog post ;)
    Have fun being kidnapped ladies!
    Oh and MACAROONS when you get back Raissa!! I want to conduct another 14A Market Street cookery lesson with my favourite (only) French friend ;D this time we’ll vlog it xx

Leave a Reply

